ASK RHONA: Questions for the mind, body and spirit…Let me hear it

I’ve been told that I have a way of listening and/or saying things that help people. From friends, to family, to strangers, I’ve been a listening ear; helped someone gain more perspective and/or just “chopped it up” (talked) about life. I’ve just been living, taking things as they come, and doing my best to create the life I want to experience; continuing to learn from mistakes, still figuring myself out. I don’t think that ever stops. Things continue to change for me. I believe this happens sometimes to continue moving us through “our stuff”. I’ve learned to call it “pausing for station identification”. It’s up to us to pay attention, so that it can teach us and allow some growth.

“Ask Rhona” is something I’ve been thinking about doing for a while. It will give me the opportunity to connect with people from all over, and do what I love to do, HELP. It will also allow YOU to converse with others in order to help each other. This is an open dialog … Feel free to be yourself … We’ll all be learning something from sharing in this public forum.

For suggestions on topics or to get more private time on a more confidential matter, you can write me at askrhona@hotmail.com 

Also: check out the previous “Ask Rhona” section featured. A lot of great questions were asked… Just click “Ask Rhona” to the right of the blog in orange.

You ready? Let’s Go!!! (just leave a question/comment)

18 Responses to “ASK RHONA: Questions for the mind, body and spirit…Let me hear it”

  1. Hey Rhona! Have u ever been in Barcelona or in Spain? What do you remember about it? Cant wait 4 your new album!!! 🙂
    Besos.

    • Hey Nando;)

      Yes, I’ve been to Spain and loved it! I visited the Canary Islands, Madrid and Barcelona. I remember that I loved the Barcelona sun piercing through my window, and the flamenco dancers in Madrid. I got burned by the sun on the beach in the Canary Islands, and I learned about the “siesta” (a pause in the middle of the day to rest). I really liked the vibe of the culture… I enjoyed myself, and I look forward to coming back!

      Rho

      • I read other “Ask Rhona” Q&A and it was very fruitful. You transmit positivism, desire to live. I envy you cause i am so negative, always thinking all is going to come out wrong (maybe my bad luck and my bad experiences turned me like this). For example, this new year’s eve im going to NY for the first time, and ill go to see Mariah Carey at Madison. Im thinking “my Dec 31st flight will be delayed, i will not arrive and i will be sad the other 7 days of the trip in NY bla bla bla”. Dont know if you understand what I am saying (im not perfect in english).

        Well, i only want to thank u for transmit all this energy and hope. I whis I had more people like you around me!

        Gracias Rho (Thank u)
        Besos (Mmuah!)

  2. Is your album complete? I am apart of a multi -platinum team and I keep wearing there ear out about your vocals. Just beautiful!
    If you still need songs it would be a honor cause music isn’t what it use to be. I make music but I miss the music I grew up with. God Bless

    • Hey there… Yes:) My album is complete… Thank you so much for the support over the years. Who knows? Maybe we will work together in the near future. It should be available to the public early next year! Have a great one…

      Rho

  3. Hey Rhona-
    I haven’t been by here in a while…but I’ve been supporting you from afar. But I do have a question that I need advice about…Well…I play basketball. I’ve been playing basketball since the 7th grade…and I’m a sophmore in high school. Basketball is my favorite thing in this world and I love it…but my family has been having issues with how often I practice. I practice 6 days a week…and they complain on how they dpn’t get to see me much anymore. I feel the same way…I want to get better at what I do…but on the other hand my family is important. Sometimes I don’t think I should be playing..if I went to college for basketball, I know I would never see them. How did you feel about having to leave/and be away from your family when you went on tours??

    • Hi Autrey,

      So good to hear from you again lady… I loooove to hear that you’ve found your passion. It’s beautiful. I feel that because you are asking, you will receive the balance your looking for. The fact that you’re wanting and willing to keep the connection with your family is all that is needed. It’s completely natural for family to feel that way. However, in the long run, they’ll respect and be proud of your accomplishments if you live out your dream. To do what truly makes you happy, is a luxury most people don’t afford the opportunity for their selves. I don’t think you want the painful regret of not going for what could have been; neither does your family. Live it out, and THE WAY will find YOU. With today’s technology, so much is possible (webcams, text messaging, email, IM, etc…). Maybe you can establish a happy medium with them by agreeing that you all will keep in touch using one of those means of communication. Also, set aside a particular time of the year that you always go home. I go back for the 4th of July and Christmas. It works for us;) Keep them apart of your growth… You’ll do just fine:)

      Rho

  4. Sorrry…I have another question…when you first sung in front of a crowd….how did you feel?

    • Ha… I can’t even remember that far back. I probably was very nervous… Although, once I get on stage, something happens. Another energy seems to take over, and I’m able to become engrossed in that moment.

      Rho

  5. Hi Rhona,

    I admire your spirituality, strength and the inner peace that you seem to have. What I desperately hope for this new year is for peace of mind, good health and I want to grow spiritually. I’Ve been procrastinating when it comes to meditation but I have every intention to go at full force come January 1st if not before.

    I have a lot of stress and negativity in my life, some of which I create myself, and it’s affecting my health and state of mind. I need to find clarity and I need to get out of this forest that I’m in and out into the wide open fields. My question(s) to you is, how do you lift yourself up when you’re down, how have you gotten to the spiritual level that you’re at now and how to do you keep negativity at bay and not let it affect you?

    Thank you for your time! (c:

    • Hey there,

      I’m winking at you… 😉

      You, my dear, are embarking on an amazing journey of self exploration, expanded awareness and conscious evolution. It’s not easy to shake up our social conditioning, shift our embedded points of view and break the addiction to our pain bodies (that part of yourself that may not be aware, that in some way, our negativity gives us a charge/makes you feel alive…bad or good).

      How do you lift yourself up when you’re down?
      How have you gotten to the spiritual level that you’re at now and how to do you keep negativity at bay and not let it affect you?

      I’ve been on a conscious journey for a while, meaning, I’ve been reading books that support my spiritual growth and choosing to surround myself with people and things that continue to help me move towards more positive life experience. I’ve chosen to be more aware of my responsibility for what happens in my life. It’s a practice. Just like the meditation you speak of. I believe we will continue to be challenged by people and situations that beckon change and/or growth.

      Perception has so much to do with how you receive what happens to you. I continue to be willing to make new choices about how I can feel when something occurs. You have so much power. For example, you may have always thought that if someone calls you out of your name, you have every right to become defensive and tell them where to get off at! 🙂 You DO have that right. You ALSO have the power of discernment, and in that moment, can choose to react differently by not taking it personally. Your inner peace is left in tact, and you’ve remained in a position of inner strength because you, in that moment, exercised putting the meaning YOU WANT on that experience; no longer defaulting to old reactions and letting them continue to keep you stuck.

      I’m STILL doing my best with what I’ve got. The challenges won’t stop till you’re in the grave. Forgiveness is HUGE, and compassion can go a long way…

      I hope this helped…

      Head up, vision steady, heart open…

      Rho

      Hit me at askrhona@hotmail.com for some great book suggestions if you’d like; to give you more support for the direction it seems you’re going…All the best to you

      • Hi Rhona,

        What a great reponse to my request for advice and guidance. Thank you for taking the time to share your knowledge with me. Your words have given me great encouragment and excitement.

        What you replied with really resonates with me. I GET what it is that you’re saying. I believe Oprah call’s that an A-HA! moment. haha Well I was ah-ha-ing with every paragraph you wrote. I really like what you wrote. You’re absolutely right about it being difficult to change points of view that are engraved in us and break the addiction to our pain bodies (are you an Eckhart Tolle reader too? 😉 )

        I agree. Meditation is definitely a practice and an accumulative process/practice. I think that is the reason I have been procrastinating. I am impatient, I’ll admit it. But that is something else I want to work on. Now that I’ve made the conscious decision to embark on my spiritual journey, I’ve noticed that I’m being challenged a lot more now. (c: Everything is really coming at me from every direction and really making me put my spiritual practices into use. It’s good because that’s how one learns and grows, but shoot, I’d be lying if I didn’t say that it’s challenging. 🙂

        I really like what you had to say, and the example you gave, about perception towards a situation and how it has a lot to do with how one receives what happens to them. I GET that too and it feels right to me, to approach a situation in that manner. That’s such a powerful accomplishment for a person to have. To be able to stay in a place of inner peace and strength because we put the meaning that we want on that experience is powerful. It takes the power away from others and the situation and leaves it soley with you, me, us!

        It’s people like yourself that I try to surround myself with – those who can help me grow and who I can help to grow in turn and people who bring positivity to those around them. Everything carries energy and we are responsible for the energy that we hold and carry, and I think that what we’re all creating is an energy exchange with one another and those that we come into contact with. And I think you’re letting people know this with your blog and by replying to my post because you’re having a high vibrational exchange with us and you’re interjecting light into people’s lives, and we all know that darkness can’t exist where there’s light and everything is vibrational on the spectrum of light or dark, so the more light you put out into the world, the more it shines light onto darkness and the darkness can no longer live. And you’re doing that by creating ASK RHONA and sharing your awareness with us. Thank you!

        I’m going to fire you off an e-mail now. Thanks again.

  6. Thanks for the advice and encouraging words. You would be a great mentor…:-)

  7. Hey Rhona. I have a question regarding taxes as it relates to the business. I’m an actor. Is it possible to ever have your employers (The Film or TV studio producing your show/movie) to take the taxes out of your checks before you are paid? Or do you have to always file a 1099 and pay the taxes back at the end of the year? I know alot of entertainers run into tax issues with the IRS and I don’t want to become one of them.

    Also is it necessary to save every single receipt that I get from when I buy something for when I meet with my accountant?

    How do I avoid being ripped off by my business manager?

    And if I am unable to have taxes taken out of my checks before I receive them, would you suggest opening an account solely reserved for paying my taxes with?

    I could be thinking too much but I just want to make sure I don’t get caught in an okie doke like Wesley Snipes of Mr. Biggs. I don’t go crazy with spending money as is so I want to make sure I am smart.

    • Hey Asmar,

      Q. Is it possible to ever have your employers (The Film or TV studio producing your show/movie) to take the taxes out of your checks before you are paid? Or do you have to always file a 1099 and pay the taxes back at the end of the year? I know alot of entertainers run into tax issues with the IRS and I don’t want to become one of them.

      I find that a lot of employers in our field like to issue 1099’s because it’s reduces their tax liability. You’re a much better write off for them to do it that way.

      Q. Also is it necessary to save every single receipt that I get from when I buy something for when I meet with my accountant?

      It doesn’t hurt… especially if you incorporate yourself (S corp, C corp, LLC.). There are a lot of write offs for the entertainment industry (wardrobe, breakfast/lunch/dinner “meetings”, recording equiptment…etc) that you could use to reduce taxes on your money before it hits “Uncle Sam’s” hands. You might want to consider that…

      Q. How do I avoid being ripped off by my business manager?

      Have your accountant audit your business manager at year end.

      Q. And if I am unable to have taxes taken out of my checks before I receive them, would you suggest opening an account solely reserved for paying my taxes with?

      I think that’s a great idea. I’d pull aside at least 30% of your gross earnings to be on the safe side.

  8. Very interesting blog, which I found after talking to my kids about going to see some of the greats back in the seventies!! Watching Teddy performing at a ‘dinner club’ was fascinating for me, as that was how I really remember it. A long way from even the likes of JayZ these days… We need more luurve in the world, and it’s good to see that come across in your blog!

    Jon

Leave a Reply

